Migrating SVN to GIT–Windows


I enjoy using git because of its simplicity and speed. Recently, I have been working on a project of ours which uses SVN as a default version control system.

I proposed to my team to switch to Git as we can also use GitHub after that for making our code public. So, I decided to take the initiative to convert our SVN repository ready for GIT. There were 2 solutions to this:

  • I use the latest stable code and then check it into the latest GitHub repository.
  • I convert the whole SVN repository into Git repository.

I wanted to do the latter as I want to ensure that the commit logs are maintained across the clone.

So, after looking on the internet I found a few solutions using git-svn. The github site gives a good link on how to do it on a linux machine: https://help.github.com/articles/importing-from-subversion

However, I was looking for some Windows based solution which is easy to use and GUI based as I have to show it to my team as well. So, I decided to use TortoiseGIT [https://code.google.com/p/tortoisegit/wiki/Download?tm=2] which is a Windows based tool for git repositories.

Here are the steps I used using tortoiseGit to clone my SVN repository as a Git repository.

  1. Install TortoiseGit
  2. Create a new folder where you want to clone the repository.
  3. Now right clock on the folder and select the “Git Clone …” option.
  4. You will see a clone screen. Choose “From SVN Repository” and uncheck all boxes.Image
  5. Click OK.

It will take some time depending on your SVN repository size but in the end you will be presented with a Git repository in your folder.

Now, let’s do some Git command work to push this new code to Git –

1. git add –all

2. git commit –m “initial commit to git”

3. git remote add origin <git repo url>

4. git push –u origin master

This should do it – you should have everything in Git with proper commit logs history.

Happy Coding Smile

Leave a Reply

